Dogs – no one said it’d be easy

Last night we clinked our much-needed beer-filled glasses to celebrate our official 3 week anniversary of life with Rosie AND our first one-on-one puppy training session. (Really, boot camp for dog owners)

IMG_0481
Leaving the farm with our pup!

The last three weeks have been filled with ridiculousness, puppy cuddles, constantly smelling like the duck treats we give her, laughter, TEARS, frustration, love, all the poop and so m

any conversations between Pat & I – “should we do this .. Should we do that? I read this article ..” And you know, I really didn’t think being a pup owner would be THAT hard. I knew it would be work of course, but I didn’t think my patience and sanity would be pushed to the brink as often as they have been and I didn’t realize all the learning I would do along the way.

Not only did I not think it would be hard, I thought I had this whole thing in the bag – I mean, I did have a dog before and I trained him. Granted, I was 10 and all we really taught him to do was walk on a leash and take his business into the great outdoors but doesn’t that count for something?

I’m also a home-body (great for dogs), I crave routine (hello, potty schedule on lock down) and I love being outside (so do dogs). What I didn’t really think of was – When I’m being this little miss home-body, I love my home to be clean and quiet and exactly the way I like it to be – Impossible with a pup.

This great routine I mention, is well, MY routine. It revolved around me and all the juicy things I like to do – yoga, cooking, meditation, aligning my third chakra.. Ok that’s a joke, but you get the picture. My routine is now OUR routine, which is more so what makes sense for Rosie.

When I am getting my steps in, I like it to be calm and relaxing and filled with warm sunshine. I swear the first week we brought Rosie home it rained every day while we were outside with her and there is nothing relaxing about walking a dog in-training. Nothing.

Insert laughter here

And Pat, well – I thought he would struggle. He’s a freelancing engineer gone entrepreneur cycling around the city to meet all of the people to discuss future collaboration, connection and community, climbing indoor rocks and being the dungeon master that he is. (Dungeons and Dragons reference, nothing kinky) Oh – and he’s a sleeping beauty.

Trigger warning for mushiness:

IMG_0508
Pat & Rosie relaxing post-play

And he has surprised me in so many ways. Pulling more than his fair share of the responsibility, he is teaching me patience and understanding and to love openly. I couldn’t ask for a better person to co-parent our baby – yes, we are still talking about our doggo here.

In 21 days I’ve learned about cultivating more patience, ccompassion and good – enoughness in my life. She doesn’t know it yet, but Miss. Rosie is teaching me how to be a more joyful less controlling flowy person, and for that I am thankful. 

Leave a comment